Officers & Board


President - Miriam Pearlman - Temple Sinai, Toronto
            Miriam Pearlman has served on the ARZA Canada Board since 2004 in a variety of roles including Senior Vice-President, Chair of Communications and an ARZA Canada delegate to a World Zionist Congress in Israel. Miriam is currently a Board Trustee on the URJ-North American Board and an ARZA Canada representative on the Reform Movement Israel Commission.

 She is an active lay leader member of Temple Sinai Congregation of Toronto, having served on the Board of Directors and as Chair of the vibrant Israel Committee. She has been active in many Temple Sinai missions to Israel led by their senior rabbi. 

 Professionally Miriam was a pioneer as a women in education throughout her 37-year career.  Starting as a secondary school teacher of mathematics with the North York Board of Education during a time when women teaching mathematics were rare, she moved up the organizational ladder as the first woman to serve as the Coordinator of Mathematics in a large urban school board, to Secondary School Principal to Superintendent of Education with the Toronto District School Board. 

 Miriam has an Honour B.A. in Mathematics and an M.Ed. in Education Leadership and Administration, both from University of Toronto.

 Following retirement from TDSB, Miriam worked as an independent consultant focusing on organizational and leadership development.

She and her husband enjoy spending time with their children and grandchildren. 


Senior Vice-President - Lee Weisser - Temple Emanu-El, Toronto

                 Lee Weisser has served on the board of ARZA Canada since 2015. Lee studied at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem in her youth and she participated in the Beutel Leadership Seminar in Israel in 2017. Lee is an active participant in her home congregation of Temple Emanu-El in Toronto where she leads Israel-related activities and serves as co-chair of the Social Action Committee. She is a Professional Certified Coach, holds a Master of Adult Education degree from the University of Toronto, and currently works as a career coach. She lives with her husband in Toronto.


Vice-President, Program - Cheryl Englander - Solel Congregation, Mississauga

            Cheryl Englander presently serves as a Vice President of ARZA Canada, having been a member of the Board since 2008. Previously she worked part-time as a staff member for CCRJ and ARZA Canada.   She is active at Solel Congregation, Mississauga and in the local community.


Vice-President, Membership - Dorothy (Dodi) Millman - Temple Sinai, Toronto

            In 1972 Dorothy launched DMS Market Services as an Outsource Contact Center service. By 1995, she employed 2000 people, went public in 1995 and in 2001 sold to Minacs Worldwide where she was Vice Chair for over two years.Since 2005, Dorothy’s company, SBS Communications, has specialized in client advocacy, process and contact centre strategies, solutions, outsourcing on a global platform and vendor management. Dorothy has worked on several not-for-profit boards over her career. She is currently serves on the ARZA Canada Board of Directors as Vice President Fund Raising and the Temple Sinai Board of Directors, and  member of the Organization Review Committee. Dorothy is also Co-Chair of the Israel Committee and Leader for the April 29, 2011 Yom Ha’atzmaut  celebration.


Vice-President, Communications -  Jeff Denaburg - Holy Blossom, Toronto

            Jeff Denaburg is the Vice-President of Communications for ARZA Canada and is currently serving in his sixth year on the ARZA Canada board.  Jeff  has held the position of co-Chair of the Israel Committee at Holy Blossom Temple for several years, where he also serves as Shaliach Tzibur. When not pursuing his Israel-related interests, Jeff works as a Project Manager in Information Technology at CIBC. Jeff is married and he and his wife Phyllis have two children.


Vice-President, Treasurer - Valerie Whitefield - Temple Sinai, Toronto

          Valerie joined the ARZA Canada Board in 2008, soon became the volunteer bookkeeper and is now serving as Treasurer of ARZA Canada.  She has been a member of Temple Sinai Congregation of Toronto since 1986 and has served on the Pulpit & Services, Adult Education, Membership and Festivals committees, as well as serving the community as a Shaliach Tzibur.  She currently works as a freelance bookkeeper and a volunteer at Toronto Rehab.  Valerie and her husband Brian have two children.  They are volunteers and avid supporters of The Toronto Jewish Film Festival.  Their shared love of Eretz Israel has taken them there on many missions and personal vacations.

Past President - Les Rothschild



Rabbi Larry Englander - Solel Congregation, Mississauga/Temple Sinai, Toronto; ARZENU

Glenn Cohen - Temple Sinai, Toronto; CZF

Naomi Cohen - Temple Kol Ami, Thornhill

Penny Fine - City Shul, Toronto

Elliot Goldenberg - Temple Emanu-El-Beth Sholom, Montreal

Ellen Gordon - Temple Sholom, Vancouver

Adam Roberts - Temple Emanu-El, Toronto



Board Members-at-Large

Pam Albert, Holy Blossom, Toronto

Mark Anshan - Holy Blossom, Toronto

Steve Arnold - Temple Anshe Shalom, Hamilton

Arliene Botnick - Solel Congregation, Mississauga

David B. Dewitt - Holy Blossom, Toronto

Leon Efraim - B'nai Shalom V'Tikvah, Ajax(Durham)

Carl S. Ehrlich - Or Hadash, Newmarket

Adam Fisher - Neshamah Congregation of York Region, Thornhill

Joan Garson -  Holy Blossom, Toronto

Shirley Herman - Solel Congregation, Mississauga

Lynn Hierlihy - Shaar Beth El, Oakville

Ruth Livingston - Temple Shalom, Winnipeg

Linda Steingarten - Temple Israel, Ottawa

Carole Sterling - Holy Blossom, Toronto; World Union of Progessive Judaism

Judith Wiley - Temple Israel, London

Herman Yeger - Or Hadash, Newmarket


Pekka Sinerva, President, Canadian Council of Reform Judaism
Austin Beutel,  World Union for Progressive Judaism

Gary Mann, Camp George

Support IMPJ